Connect with us

Internet

How to Delete, Enable, Disable Google Chat History

Google mail account settings have options to save or never save chat history. See our tutorial guide to learn how to enable, disable Google chat history.

Published

on

If you are using Google account, then you may know about Google Chat service. Basically, Google allows users to chat with their Google contacts while using the Google email service at the same time. The Google Chat is a web-based chat system that works pretty good like an instant PC messenger – Google Talk and like other instant messenger chat, Google chat also records communications by default as a Google Chat History.

The system automatically keeps the record of Google chat history and with the access to your account, your chat partner or anyone else can easily look into your past chat sessions.

Google chat has some cool features like text chatting, share emoticons, call the user, send files, more and Google keeps the chat records in your account by default.

Also see: How to Remove All Google Web History?

If you are single account user and other Google accounts are not connect to your account, then it may not be a problem. But if the email account is shared, then you could be in a great trouble. All in case, if you are using a family or a company account.

There are two options available to enable, disable chat history. The very first option allows users to completely disable the Google chat history. After disabling the chat history, your future chats will not record at all. Your chat history will not access or search by any person after the session closes.

Save or Never Save Google Chat History

Simply log into your Gmail account and click on the small Gear Icon located on the top right corner nearby your profile photo. Now click on the Settings and switch to Chat tab. Click here to directly visit Google Chat Settings page.

google chat historyHere you will see two options, to disable Google chat history, simply select the option Chat off and to enable chat history, just select the Chat on and click Save Changes.

Do More With Google Chat History Settings

Sometimes users only want to block chat history of a particular person/contacts or want to delete Google chat history.

Delete Google Chat History: To look into the previous chat history that has been recorded earlier by Google, simply type in:chat into the search bar of Gmail homepage and hit enter. The entire chat history will appear right in front of you with the option to delete them from records.

Recommended for you: How to Turn On or Off & Clear Google Location Reporting Service?

Turn off Chat Recording: To disable chat recording for a particular contact during a chat, click on the More (down arrow icon) located on the top right corner of the chat window and select Go off the record. Once you select, it will show you a message stating that you are now off the records.

This option will block chat history for a particular contact. For that contact, Google chat history will no longer save. Neither in your Gmail account nor the chat-partners’ account.

The above tutorial explained to you how to delete, enable, disable Google chat history from your Google account.

Lalit Sharma is a professional blogger at Elkees Media and writes blogs related to latest technology, culture, trends, etc. He is also founder & chairman of Elkees Technologies & ElkeesDeals.com

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Share your Views / Comments / Suggestions ✍

Follow Us



Trending